European derby for world supremacy


Christiane Fuerst of Eczacibasi VitrA Istanbul aims at becoming the only player in history to win three Club World Championship gold medals.

Zurich, Switzerland, May 10, 2015 - Following slow starts to the tournament, Eczacibasi VitrA Istanbul and Dinamo Krasnodar have been picking up pace with brilliant semifinal performances that have seen them set up an all-European final at the 2015 FIVB Volleyball Women's Club World Championship.

It's the winners of the CEV Denizbank Champions League against the winners of the CEV Cup for the ultimate trophy in club competitions, up against each other for the second time in this tournament.

On the individual front, German middle blocker of Eczacibasi Christiane Fuerst will be aiming at becoming the only player in the history of the competition to win a third gold medla. Fuerst was also on the winning squads of two other Istanbul sides, Fenerbahce in 2010 and of Vakifbank in 2013.

The match starts at 15:00 local time (13:00 GMT) at the Saalsporthalle.

· These teams also met in pool B on Thursday. Eczacibasi VitrA Istanbul won 3-0 (25-22, 26-24, 25-19).
· That was the first ever match at the Club World Championship for Dinamo Krasnodar. Eczacibasi already played their first match a day earlier against Hisamitsu Springs Kobe (losing 3-2).
· It is the first time since 2011 that two debutants are in the final. In 2011, Rabita Baku defeated Vakifbank TTelekom Istanbul 3-0.
· Last season, Dinamo Kazan won as debutants.
· Tatiana Kosheleva was the best scorer in the match on Thursday 7 may, with 18 points.

Eczacibasi VitrA Istanbul
· Eczacibasi VitrA Istanbul are the third side from Turkey to reach the final at the Club World Championship, after Fenerbahce Istanbul in 2010 and Vakifbank Istanbul in 2011 and 2013.
· Fenerbahce in 2010 and Vakifbank in 2013 also won the title that year.
· Participating sides from Turkey have always finished on the podium: Fenerbahce in 2010 (gold) and 2012 (bronze) and Vakifbank in 2011 (silver) and 2013 (gold).
· The Club World Championship has had eight different winners from five different countries.
· Only Brazilian teams have won the tournament more often than Turkey's sides (3 times).

Dinamo Krasnodar
· Dinamo Krasnodar, who received a wildcard for this year’s edition, could become the first team to win the Club World Championship after entering the tournament with a wildcard since Azerbaijan's Rabita Baku in 2011.
· Krasnodar are aiming to follow last year's success of Dinamo Kazan who became the first Russian team to win the Club World Championship.
· Teams from the same country have never won two consecutive Club World Championships.
· Fe Garay will celebrate her 29th birthday on the day of the final.


All the News